He made the slam dunk. And there aren’t any pictures, as they are saying, within the scorecard, however a five-second video clip struck a chord.
Identical to right here:
And right here:
And on and on. Might you Google “Lucas Glover putt” or Search on Twitter Identical subject for extra. Regardless of the wealth of knowledge, you could be asking your self this:
What is that this?
Technically, that is simple! It was a 3-foot putt by 2009 US Open winner Lucas Glover throughout Thursday’s first spherical of the event. American Categorical Competitors. However as you may see – maybe – there’s extra. Or is it much less? On the putt, Glover retrieved his blade once more with a fast wrist flip, then moved it ahead with one other flip, and his ball rolled in.
Though now you will have extra questions…
Has Lucas Glover been put this fashion earlier than?
sure, Most notably in final 12 months’s Honda Traditionalbecause it was recorded and shared on-line very like this week’s state of affairs, and you’ll check out that beneath.
Is it authorized?
On Hit Honda, we dug into this. In brief, sure, and Here is what we wrote:
Beneath Rule 10.1you may see “Stroke” outlined as follows:
The stroke is made by hanging considerably with the ball with the pinnacle of the membership. The first problem is to direct and management the motion of all the membership by swinging the membership freely with out clamping it.
Within the related language underneath 10.1a/1the principles specify three strategies that don’t represent a “hit”:
– A participant punches a brief putt by hitting the ball with the underside of the membership head, utilizing a movement just like that used to strike a ball in billiards or shuffleboard. Transfer the ball like this push.
– the participant strikes the membership alongside the floor of the earth and pulls it in direction of it. Shifting the ball on this means is a scratch.
– The participant slides a racket underneath the ball and really near the ball. Then the participant lifts and strikes the ball utilizing a ahead and up movement. Shifting the ball like it is a scoop.
Which brings us again to Glover. After dropping Honda, a small group of commentators on social media speculated that the hit was extra of a push, which ought to have constituted a one-shot penalty. And though it might appear like this to the bare eye, if you decelerate the video, you may see the smallest background oscillations. You can too see Glover’s arms shifting (barely), implying that this was a professional stroke by the principles of golf, half and sq..
It is a step yip. Golf Digest Luke Kerr-Dineen expertly notes which Glover has put “historically” on not less than two different events on American Categorical Thursdays, and the query requested was an anomaly. Though it was not less than underneath Some management. In spite of everything, there was this one from Glover:
After all, it wasn’t at all times like that. Glover was a world class participant. Moreover profitable the Open Championship, he additionally received the 2005 Funai Traditional and the 2011 Wells Fargo Championship. However then golf obtained into his head, as a result of that is what golf does.
However Glover labored at it, like Properly described by Michael Bamberger right here. And Glover received once more, in 2021 on the John Deere Traditional.
Nevertheless, there’s a quote in Bamberger’s article, that maybe sums up our query higher. It comes from Glover’s agent, Mac Barnhardt.
“You may’t heal from springs—everybody has them. However you may scale back them.”
And on Thursday, Glover hit the ball.